Wiki has two levels of permissions at site level and at page level. Site level permissions are the default permissions for all pages. However, permissions can be changed for individual pages. For example, you can alter permissions so that wiki is editable by everyone, apart from one page which can only be edited by maintainers.
There are 5 levels of permission within Wiki:
Remember that permissions cascade downwards you cannot update a page if you cannot read it, so it makes no sense to enable 'update' but dis-enable 'read'. If you enabled 'create' or 'update', Wiki will assume that you want 'read' permission enabled as well.
Sakai roles are not automatically mapped to Wiki roles in order to allow the tool to be used in a more flexible way.
We recommend the following ways of mapping Sakai permissions onto Wiki permissions.
Default - using Wiki as a traditional wiki tool
With these permissions, all users can edit the wiki. This would allow collaborative drafting of documents, for example. This is the default setting for permissions.
Using Wiki as a simple content management system
With these permissions, only maintain users can edit the wiki. Access users can only read pages. This allows it to be used as a simple content management system.
Page-level permissions apply to that page only. For example, you can alter permissions so that wiki is editable by everyone, apart from one page which can only be edited by maintainers.
To alter page-level permissions, select 'info'. Tick and un-tick the boxes below the permissions to alter the permissions settings. Because permissions cascade downwards, this may not always have the effect that you imagine. For example, if 'update' is enabled for a role, you cannot dis-enable 'read' for that role, because users must be able to read a page to update it.
The 'create' permission is not applicable to page-level permissions and can only be altered at site level.
Site level permissions are the default permissions for all pages.
To alter site-level permissions, select 'info' and then select 'edit site permissions'. Tick and un-tick the boxes to switch permissions on and off.