Revising or deleting a forum or topic

Note: To complete these procedures, you must be assigned a role having the necessary permissions. To determine your role, follow the directions in Participant roles. For a basic understanding of roles and permissions, see Permissions and roles: Overview.

Note: To delete an individual forum message, see Deleting a forum message.

Revising a forum or topic

Note: You can revise the default template that will apply to all newly created forums; see Changing forum template settings. Following the instructions below will override the default settings for the individual forum or topic you revise.

To revise a forum or topic:

  1. In your site's menubar, click Forums, and then click Forum Settings or Topic Settings next to the forum or topic to change.

  2. You can:

    • Change the title, descriptions, and attachments
    • Make the forum or topic moderated
    • Require participants to post before reading others' contributions
    • Display the forum or topic immediately, or choose specific dates for it to open and close
    • Cause all messages in a given conversation to be marked as read automatically when one is opened
    • Change whether the forum or topic will be linked to the Gradebook

  3. To change the permissions, click Permissions and change the settings; for more, see Controlling access in Forums.

  4. When you're finished, click one of the following:

    • Save: Saves your changes and returns you to the Forums screen
    • Save Settings & Add Topic: Saves your changes and opens the Topic Settings screen for adding a new topic to your forum; see Creating new forums and topics.
    • Save Draft: Saves your forum as a draft and returns you to the Forums screen
    • Delete Forum or Delete Topic: Removes your forum or topic with all associated messages, and takes you to a confirmation page
    • Cancel: Cancels your changes and returns you to the Forums screen

Deleting a forum or topic

To delete a forum or topic you've created:

  1. On the Forums screen, next to the title of the forum or topic you wish to delete, click Forum Settings or Topic Settings.

  2. Click Delete Forum or Delete Topic.

  3. Confirm or cancel the deletion when prompted.

You can also delete forums and topics by selecting Delete Topic or Delete Forum from the More drop-down menu.